About Us


Learning Trajectories for Everyday Computing (LTEC-2) is a collaborative NSF STEM+C project between the University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign, UChicago STEM Center, and the University of Illinois-Chicago. The project seeks to understand how to integrate computational thinking into elementary mathematics. This work involves the development and evaluation of integrated elementary mathematics and computer science/computational thinking lessons that align with learning trajectories for elementary computational thinking. Our research attempts to understand how students' understanding of fractions is influenced by experiences with integrated lessons that combine mathematics with computational thinking.

The Team


Maya Israel

Assistant professor
College of Education
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
misrael@illinois.edu
@misrael09
Maya's Profile

Diana Franklin

LTEC Role: Principle Investigator (PI)
Research Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science
UChicago STEM Education
The University of Chicago
dmfranklin@uchicago.edu
Diana's Profile

Andy Isaacs

Director, UChicago STEM Education
Director, Everyday Mathematics Revisions
The University of Chicago
aisaacs@uchicago.edu
@maththoth
Andy's Profile

Katie Rich

Graduate Student in Educational Psychology and Educational Technology
Michigan State University
richkat3@msu.edu
@KatietheCurious
Katie's Profile

Carla Strickland

Digital Development Manager
UChicago STEM Education
The University of Chicago
castrickland@uchicago.edu
@CisForCarla

Todd Lash

Instructional Coach for Computer Science and Computational Thinking
Kenwood Elementary, Champaign, IL
lashtodd@u4sd.org
@Todd_Lash
Todd's Profile

Brian Gane

Visiting Research Assistant Professor
Learning Sciences Research Institute, University of Illinois at Chicago
bgane@uic.edu

Megan Deiger, PhD

Assistant Research Professor
Loyola University Chicago
Center for Science and Math Education
mdeiger@luc.edu

Yasemin Cicek

Graduate Student in Curriculum and Instruction
Digital Environments for Learning, Teaching, and Agency (DELTA)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
ycicek2@illinois.edu
@TrYaseminCicek

Noor Elagha

Graduate Student in Cognitive Psychology
University of Illinois at Chicago
nelagh2@uic.edu

John Hampton

Doctoral Student in Educational Technology
University of Florida
ufxero@ufl.edu
@hampthephd

Ruohan Liu

Doctoral Student in Educational Technology
University of Florida
liuruohan1990@ufl.edu
@RuohanLiu1

Feiya Luo

Doctoral Student in Educational Technology
University of Florida
sophia.l1998@ufl.edu
@FeiyaLuo

Wei Yan

Doctoral Student in Educational Technology
University of Florida
wei1993yan@ufl.edu

Michael McKelvey

Coordinator of Engagement Technology & New Media
Office for Mathematics, Science, and Technology Education (MSTE)
College of Education
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
mmckelve@illinois.edu

Past Team members


George Reese

Director of the Mathematics, Science and Technology Office
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
reese@illinois.edu
@mstegeorge
George's Profile

Cheryl Moran

Senior Curriculum Developer
UChicago STEM Education
The University of Chicago
cgmoran@uchicago.edu
Cheryl's Profile

Andrew Binkowski

Asst Clinical Professor, Department of Computer Science
Senior Fellow, Computation Institute
The University of Chicago
abinkowski@uchicago.edu

Quentin Wherfel

Doctoral Student in the Department of Special Education
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
wherfel2@illinois.edu
Quentin's Profile

Jelena Pokimica

Doctoral Student in Education Policy, Organization and Leadership (EPOL)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
pokimic2@illinois.edu

Stay in Touch


Want to keep up to date with Everyday Computing? Follow up on Twitter or send us an email!