Learning Trajectories for Integrating K-5 Computer Science and Mathematics


UChicago STEM and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s College of Education propose a two-year STEM+C Track 1 Exploratory Integration project, "EI: Learning Trajectories for Integrating K-5 Computer Science and Mathematics," which will create prototype learning trajectories for computer science at Grades K-5. Each trajectory will span multiple grades and will include a target goal, intermediate objectives, performance expectations, sample tasks and assessments, and hypothetical learning paths. The prototype learning trajectories, including the sample tasks and assessments, will be designed to fit with Everyday Mathematics 4 (EM4), the elementary curriculum from the University of Chicago School Mathematics Project. Since EM4 is newly revised to closely align with the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics (CCSS-M), the tasks and assessments will also be usable with other instructional materials aligned with CCSS-M. The learning trajectories (LTs) will be developed and tested in collaboration with 18 teachers and 4 teacher-leaders in public schools in Champaign, Illinois.

The Team


Andy Isaacs

Director, UChicago STEM Education
Director, Everyday Mathematics Revisions
The University of Chicago
aisaacs@uchicago.edu
@maththoth
Profile

Maya Israel

Assistant professor
College of Education
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
misrael@illinois.edu
@misrael09
Profile

George Reese

Director of the Mathematics, Science and Technology Office
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
reese@illinois.edu
@mstegeorge
Profile

Andrew Binkowski

Senior Fellow, Computation Institute
Adj Asst Professor, Department of Computer Science
The University of Chicago
abinkowski@uchicago.edu

Katie Rich

Curriculum Developer
UChicago STEM Education
The University of Chicago
kmrich@uchicago.edu
Profile

Carla Strickland

Digital Development Manager
UChicago STEM Education
The University of Chicago
castrickland@uchicago.edu
@CisForCarla

Cheryl Moran

Senior Curriculum Developer
UChicago STEM Education
The University of Chicago
cgmoran@uchicago.edu
Profile

Diana Franklin

Director of Computer Science Education
UChicago STEM Education
The University of Chicago
dmfranklin@uchicago.edu
Profile

Todd Lash

Instructional Coach for Computer Science and Computational Thinking
Kenwood Elementary, Champaign, IL
lashtodd@u4sd.org
@Todd_Lash
Profile

Jelena Pokimica

Doctoral Student in Education Policy, Organization and Leadership (EPOL)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
pokimic2@illinois.edu

Quentin Wherfel

Ph.D student in the Department of Special Education
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
wherfel2@illinois.edu
Profile

Stay in Touch


Want to keep up to date with Everyday Computing? Follow up on Twitter or send us an email!